The governing body is totally committed to supporting the school in its quest for continual improvement. It wholeheartedly endorses the school’s mission statement ‘Respect and Achievement for All’ and believes that by working together and always expecting the best we can attain the highest possible standards for our students.



Paul Walsh is Headteacher and has been a governor since 2012. Paul has been a teacher since 1991 and started his career as a Science teacher in mainstream schools. He has been at The Park School since 2002, when he joined as teacher in charge of the Language Resource.

He has an MA in Education and a Doctorate focusing on teacher professional learning, hence his passion for high quality Continuous Professional Development (CPD). As a qualified coach he coaches and mentors staff and aspiring leaders. Recently Paul has also been Chair of Special School Phase Council representing Surrey Special Schools with the local authority.

Ruth Murton | chair


Ruth has extensive school governing experience across all phases and settings and is currently Chair at Thamesmead School (secondary academy) and Member of the KITE academy trust (primary). She is accredited to carry out Reviews of Governance completing these for a large number of schools, academies and Multi-academy Trusts. As a Special Adviser for the Department for Education, she regularly reviews and supports the development of governance in academies, Free Schools, UTCs and multi-academy trusts.

Ruth is retained to support a number of multi-academy trusts across all phases including trusts that specialise in alternative provision, special education and hospital schools and works with a number of LAs. As a professionally qualified coach, she coaches and mentors school leaders and aspiring leaders supporting Headteacher and CEO recruitment. Skilled in carrying out investigations she is able to support organisations through all forms of change. She is trained and sits on admissions appeals panels and Independent Review Panels for Surrey and is also a member of the Surrey Schools Forum.

Rosemary Hucker | Vice Chair


Rosemary has been a governor in Surrey since March 2007, first of all as a governor and Chair of Governors at Sayers Court and then at West Byfleet Junior School. Rosemary has also worked with Chertsey Nursery as an ASG to support governance there.

Having spent three years with the nursery she has instigated the federation of the governing bodies of Dorking Nursery and Chertsey to strengthen governance. This has required close working with Dorking and enabling a new structure of Executive head and head of school which is now securing the future development of the nursery under the excellent leadership team. Rosemary has also sat on the School's Forum and currently on the Surrey Education Trust.

Lisa Woodward


Before joining Surrey County Council (SCC) in June 2011 Lisa worked for Brooklands College in Surrey specialising in adult education for adults with learning disabilities both in teaching and management roles. At SCC Lisa is employed within the Surrey Adult Learning (SAL) service as the Curriculum Manager for the Supported Learning programme and as the SAL Safeguarding Officer.

Since June 2018 Lisa has been on secondment to the SAL Deputy Principal post with service-wide responsibility for quality and curriculum and the SAL Designated Safeguarding Lead role. Lisa is educated to degree level and has an LLB (Hons.) and post-16 PGCE.

If you would like to contact members of the Governing Body, please address correspondence to:

The Park School
Onslow Crescent
GU22 7AT

Alternatively, you can Email us at: